Categories


BBB Report Shipping made sense





Join our mailing list!




Return to GEM Dandy Hydraulic Record Cleaning Apparatus Mk II
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Safe Heavy Duty Cleaning November 2, 2020
Reviewer: Jerry from Racine, WI United States  
While this record cleaner is a bit cumbersome as you need access to a relatively deep sink and there is a bit of manual manipulation required for use, the cleaning solution and high powered nozzle do a tremendous job of getting out dirt and other contaminants from the record grooves.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 LOVE IT!!!! August 12, 2020
Reviewer: Cody Alder from Yucca Valley, CA United States  
This was definitely the correct choice for me. So far I am having fantastic results without the need for any kind of vacuum device.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 March 9, 2020
Reviewer: Paul L. Knaak from Darien, WI United States  
I have only used it a few times but the results have been quite satisfactory and better than my previous methods.
great simple design idea and improvement.
Thanks for a neat product.
Paul

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
3 of 5 not as effective as I hoped December 12, 2019
Reviewer: Christian Cousineau from Muskegon, MI United States  
I used this on about 40 LP's recently purchased at swap meets and antique malls. I did not see the results that were promised. It works OK, but even repeating the process three times on moderately soiled records leaves some gunk. I have had at least as good or better results with the KAB EV-1 vacuum machine I have been using for years. I believe the problem lies in the fact that the  label protector is way to wide in diameter and covers all of the run-out grooves, so they are never effectively cleaned. This problem is even worse when attempting to clean 7" records, because often the tolerances are even tighter. I hope the spin plate and gasket apparatus is redesigned to address this issue, and a 45 spacer is added. Too late for me but someone else may benefit from a Mk III redesign.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 November 13, 2018
Reviewer: Harvey Mannes from Atlanta, GA United States  
Used  the collapsible type garden hose with an in-line shutoff valve. None of our indoor faucets can be used directly due to design.Everything worked fine.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Works Great! March 6, 2018
Reviewer: Bennett Fischer from Brooklyn, NY United States  
This device is easy to use and cleans records very effectively. For new or relatively clean records I just spray on the Gem Dandy cleaning fluid as directed, wait, and power wash. With really gunky records I gently rub in the cleaning fluid with a Mo-Fi brush. It takes me about six or seven minutes per LP (plus drying time).

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Great kit! August 18, 2017
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from MD United States  
I've done `50 records in the past two days. Don't be put off by the build, it looks simple but it's great for modifying or fixing parts to make it work better for your set up. You don't need as much of the cleaning fluid as you think you do. Pre-rinsing has been working great for me. Wash with distilled water and dry while it's still on the rack then detail dry on a cloth, air dry before going in a sleeve. The records are coming out beautifully and sound fantastic. The o-rings like to stick to the vinyl so you have to wiggle them a little to un-stick, if you grab the knob and twist you'll unscrew the lock nut and ground out the bearing. All very fixable because of how this was designed but it slows you down for a minute. I also wouldn't leave records in the rack to dry because 1. the water right next to the o-ring doesn't like to dry or sometimes the distilled water hasn't gotten in there so it dries chalky and 2. the o-ring gets more firmly stuck to the material the longer it sits.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 The single best vinyl cleaning unit there is June 29, 2017
Reviewer: Lance Gifford from Anderson, OH United States  
It's not necessarily an attractive product, but boy oh boy does it work flawlessly. This will be the last and only vinyl cleaning unit that I'll ever use.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Best I've seen February 16, 2016
Reviewer: Dave from New Albany, IN United States  
This works great, just like they said. I just did 6 lp's, some ok, some dirty and noisy. I put a very small amount of Groove Lube on afterwards. All played very quiet. The occasional tick could only be heard near the speaker. Even scratches were reduced to barely audible. I cannot say enough how well this works! In addition, it is low cost. Adding up the cost of parts shows what a great bargain this is, especially considering how it makes so many lp's enjoyable to listen to now, and I have tried several other systems before. Thank you Mr. Merrill. The only issue I had was removing the end from the kitchen faucet the first time, which had been over-tight. But now it will be a snap to switch out adapters. Buy this. After you listen to your first record, you will be glad you did.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 GEM Dandy September 25, 2014
Reviewer: Joseph Lindsey from Arlington, VA United States  
The GEM works great.  I'm digitizing the family vinyl and this has made a tremendous difference.  I experimented with the groove lube and its not to my liking.  Seems to just apply a low pass filter to the whole record.  I've greatly benefited from your videos.  Thanks.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items